4th Contest Entry- Lydia & Omar

My name is Lydia Sofia Delgado. I grew up in El Paso, Texas and Longmont, Colorado. I am the oldest of 3 children and love my family. I was the first in my family to graduate from college. I have a Bachelor of Arts in Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences. I work for a non-profit organization that provides services for young children with delays and disabilities. I love to shop, read, and cook.

 Hello, my name is Omar Benally. I come from a larger family and have four older sisters and two younger brothers. I am originally from St. Michaels, Arizona. I moved to Denver after I was discharged from the United States Marine Corps in 2006 to attend school to become a Certified Aircraft Mechanic. Kinda funny how things in life happen, I was just supposed to finish school and go work overseas but I ended up meeting the love of my life and now I call Denver home. I am an Aircraft Mechanic and work at Centennial Airport. I like to ride horses, watch a good football game, and eat Lydia’s cooking.

We met at a loud, boot-stompin’ country bar. Anyone who knew us before we met knew that Omar loves country and I hated it! He asked me to two step and here we are three years later about to be hitched! 

We got engaged on March 20th, 2010 while on a vacation in Clearwater Beach, Florida. I was there for a work conference and Omar flew out to have a mini vacation and proposed. We went to the beach to relax in the sun but Omar was so jumpy and nervous he was getting on my nerves!! He was flipping and flopping all over his towel and wouldn’t sit still. As the sun was setting, he told me he wanted to take one more picture of us near the water. He told me sit on a rock and pretended to fiddle with the camera. All of a sudden, he got down on one knee and asked if I would marry him. I was so surprised and it was the best day of my life! 

Our wedding will be held on August 26, 2011. We are having an outdoor Navajo-Mexican wedding on a small farm in Lydia’s hometown, Longmont, Colorado. Our wedding will have traditions from both sides of our unique cultures. We value the beliefs that have been passed down from each of our families. Although our beliefs are told in different languages they hold the same values of harmony, Hozho (beauty), family, faith, and being thankful. Our wedding ceremony will be conducted in English and Spanish so each side of the family is represented. Each detail that we will be observing has significance. Our wedding ceremony will be held in the afternoon after the sun has passed the half-day point. In Navajo tradition, all women belong to the sun so weddings are typically held in the evening. The wedding is usually held in the bride’s family’s land. In the wedding, there will touches of yellow to represent protection and harmony through the Corn Pollen Path. Corn pollen is used in many ceremonies and prayers as an offering to the Holy People and corn is the sacred plant that provides sustenance.

For Lydia’s culture, we will be using el lasso, las arras, los cojines, and la Biblia. El lasso is a rope that will be placed on us during the ceremony. The lasso represents the marriage unity which cannot be easily broken because of its many intertwined strands. Las arras are gold coins that will be passed through our hands to represent financial unity. We will promise to always respect our finances and use it to care for our family. Los cojines and la Biblia are the pillows and Bible that represent our faith and devotion to God through prayer.

We are so excited to get married and join each other’s families!

Comments

  1. Libna Lopez says:

    I love your story! You are both amazing and make such a beautiful couple. I’m extremely excited for both of you. Congratulations once again!! XOXO

Leave a Reply

