1st wedding photography contest entry~Jolene and Haakon

Here is my first entry for my wedding photography giveaway contest! I can’t wait to do their engagement pictures!!

My name is Haakon Sletten. I grew up in Longmont, Colorado. I am an alumni of Colorado State University with a degree in Natural Resource Recreation and Tourism and currently work for Vail Resorts. I love Colorado, the outdoors, skiing and camping.

My name is Jolene Stukenholtz. I grew up in southeastern Nebraska in the countryside. I moved to Colorado in April 2005. I have lived all over the state, including Montrose, Evergreen, Copper Mountain, Frisco and currently Denver. I am passionate about working with children. I work as a nanny and substitute teacher at Montessori at Fiddlers Green. I enjoy snowboarding (thanks to Haakon) , camping, painting and DIY projects.
We met in Silverthorne, Colorado through a mutual friend. After meeting we immediately made plans to hang out again. Jolene lived in Evergreen at the time and Haakon lived in Frisco. After a few months of long distance dating, Jolene took a job at Copper Mountain to be closer. We have now been together for a little over three years and currently live in downtown Denver. As a couple we enjoy skiing/snowboarding, walking our dog, cooking together, and much more.

In February 2010, Haakon proposed to Jolene with his Great, Great Grandmothers engagement ring. He proposed to her by putting the ring on their dog, Buddy’s collar while taking him on a walk. When Haakon, returned from the walk, Buddy immediately jumped onto Jolene’s lap. While petting him, she noticed the ring on Buddy’s collar. The question was “popped,” and the answer was YES! We celebrated with a bottle of champagne.

Our wedding is going to be in beautiful Golden Gate Canyon State Park at the red barn group picnic area on August 13, 2011. We plan on having a laid back and rustic wedding. The ceremony and reception will be held outdoors. Our wedding is intended to reflect our personalities and love for the outdoors. We are giving tree seedlings as wedding favors. Much of the wedding decorations are being

Jolene and Haakon, first entry for wedding photography giveaway

done by ourselves. We plan to use re-used and recycled materials to do this.

Leave a Reply

